What would you do differently?

Hello sweet peas,

Do you ever find yourself just sitting and thinking about your whole life and wonder whether your life could have been completely different if you had missed that train or decided to sit next to the guy reading 1984 at that coffee shop? Maybe if you had chosen not to sleep in and go for a brisk walk or joined a choir instead of just singing in your shower, things would be different. More different than you could ever imagine. Despite this, how are you to know what life has in store for you? No one can map out their life to its finest details, things happen randomly but for a reason. There is no great power that tried to ruin your day when your umbrella broke during a thunderstorm, nor was it fate that there was one umbrella left in the shop. I think if you had taken a moment to take in your surroundings, you might have noticed the smiley old man behind the till who was genuinely interested in your day instead of grumpily wringing out your scarf and braving the miserable weather again. Also nature is very beautiful so embrace the storm. So what if your hair gets ruined? To be honest you didn’t make much of an effort this morning because you woke up late and burnt your toast. Sometimes when the day you wanted isn’t turning out how you planned it to be, just let it go. There isn’t much you can do in these situations and who knows, you might end up having a great end to the day because again, everything happens for a reason.

Sometimes I wonder what my life would be like if I hadn’t earnt the grades to go to university and hadn’t met the people who are now some of my dearest friends. Life would be completely different and I find that both exciting and spooky. We all make decisons, some better than others yet once you have made them, you just have to accept the outcome however unexpected they may be. It is important to make mistakes and it is even more important to learn from them otherwise you are trapped in a never ending circle of unsorted blurs. One day I was laying bed thinking about things and suddenly it smacked me in the face: I have matured massively this past year and I kind of like it. My thoughts and opinions along with my actions have emphasised that I am growing into a young independent woman. Therefore I really need to live life to its full potential with a care free attitude but also an understanding that everything I do has and always will have a consequence. The difference between giving someone a smile instead of ignoring them as I walk past them may not bring world peace but it could brighten their day. Next year is an important year for me because I will be starting my second year at university, which actually counts towards my degree and also is the beginning for planning my third year abroad. The end of 2014 and the months of 2015 so far have been a blast; loving and enjoying life to the max but with a lack of thought on my future. I am comfortable in higher education at the moment but these next four years are going to fly by so I need to start thinking ahead. Obviously not too far ahead because you should never wish your life away but just with a bit of caution. This is why I am asking what would you do differently? because so many people have told me I am currently living the best years of my life and with so many opportunities henceforth I want to make sure I experience as much as I possibly can.

I wonder what this blog could be like in five years and where I will be in the world? Think about where you would hopefully like to be in five years when you next bump into a stranger at a muesum or what you’d like to achieve when take a perfect baked alaska out from the oven. Who knows; anything is possible just don’t forget to get off the bus at the next stop, or not.

Keep smiling,

Love Poppy x

4 thoughts on “What would you do differently?

Leave a Reply

